2002 Inductees

63 Berwick Legionnaires Senior B Men's Softball Team

Building upon the success of earlier championship teams from 1960 - 62, and utilizing essentially the same group of talented players from Berwick and surrounding communities, the 1963 Berwick Legionaires Mens' Softball Team capped off an outstanding season by winning the Maritime Senior "B" championship. The team again featured the same successful combination of strong pitching and defense, timely hitting, and a "never give up" attitude that these earlier teams had exhibited.

After a very competitive regular season in the Western Valley Softball Leaque, the Berwick squad started on the road to the provincial Senior "B" playoffs. Berwick first faced Gorsebrook RCAF in the mainland finals winning the best of three series, 2 games to 1. Next came a very close series with Glace Bay for the Nova Scotia championship. A total of only 6 runs were scored for their victories, and the Nova Scotia championship, while Glace Bay managed a 2 - 1 win for their lone victory. Next came the Maritime championship with New Brunswick/PEI winner, Camp Gagetown. After losing the opening game at Gagetown, the local squad, playing back at home, fought back with two victories, 3 - 2 and 5 - 4, to claim the Maritime title. The games in Berwick generated a great deal of fan interest with large crowds watching the games. The series was even broadcast over the Evangeline Radio network by local sportscaster, Arnie Edwards.

At an end-of-season banquet honouring the team, Mayor M.S. Horsborough remarked that through their hard word and good sportsmanship, the team not only brought glory to themselves but also for the town. He emphasized that the success was all the more satisfying because all the talent was home grown and that the 1963 Berwick Legionaires were a group of young men of whom the entire town could be proud.

1963 Berwick Legionaires Mens' Softball Team - Nova Scotia and Maritime Champions:

Paul Bethune
Keith Kerr
John Parker
Ted Chase
Jon Margeson
Bert Richardson
Robert Haines
Greg Moreash
Orlay Veno
Pat Hampsey
Gerry Murphy
Donald Weir
Donald Harris
Edward Nichols
Gary Whittier
Manager: Wes Keddy
Bat Boy: Greg Spicer